The idea that the suburban lifestyle can be turned into a game is one that the “Sims” explores, or rather exploits through its efforts to try and create an ideal life based on just this. (Flanagan: 52). The game is centred around the idea that you can create a life inside this seemingly utopian world and in a sense escape your own life to play with the one you have created, that is ideally the life you wish for yourself. You can choose your character, the house they live in you can basically design everything to your exact liking. In addition in the recent years there have even been addition packs you can buy to your game to allow you to travel, or to even have a house of vampires, thanks Twilight for that one, but if you want it you can have it. This escape from reality is just what people want and treat as a second home, a second life. Even so far as to say that the roads are “too American” as the French put it (Flanagan: 53). This life takes us away to a different place to allow us to play other characters and live different lives, ones that we would never dream of having. You have all control, and if you get bored of playing with one family you can quickly move onto one that you want to play with. The idea for this suburban landscape was one that emerged post war, one that forced city dwellers out into the suburbs to establish a new life. People like to escape into a world in which they have all control over. Even to the point that people become addicted to the false life they are living. We watched a short movie from BBC that addressed young adults and their addictions to the games. Even shockingly how adults were neglecting their children to be able to play these games. I have my phone games that I find addicting sure, but I do get bored and move on to another game sometimes I don’t play one at all. I do not have a gaming console at home because my parents didn’t and still don’t believe in video games, I guess this allows for me not to have this itch to play them. However as a gift from a family member we got the “Sims” for PC. My sisters quickly became addicted, I however didn’t, for some reason I still think to this day that running someone else’s life is not fun but work. Why would you want to do work in a virtual world that you do not like doing in the real world. That is simply the approach I took to this game and played it a few times but never got hooked on it, I just did not find it fun like my sisters did and still to this day do. It is not a serious addiction on their part, but I do have friends that cannot go one day without playing FIFA and this just shocks me, I just do not understand video game addictions.